California Cruisin’

wine on tableSo while the weather is starting to warm up a little bit in our cold city – we still can’t deny the fact that it is winter and we would much rather be somewhere hot. Don’t let the title of this post confuse you – I didn’t travel to California to write this post. However, I did manage to cruise on down to the Hoxton last night to partake in the California Cruisin’ event hosted by iYellow Wine Club.

First and last glass of the evening.

First and last glass of the evening.

Wine enthusiasts from around the city gathered last night to sample some of the great wines from the region in a relaxed and casual setting. As soon as you entered the venue, you were hit with songs all about California (California Girls by the Beach Boys, California Love by Tupac, California Dreamin’ by The Mamas & The Papas – I think you get the point) to really get you in the California spirit.

Dancing to California Jams while we sip our California wines

Dancing to California Jams while we sip our California wines

Tables were set up all around the venue with various wines to sample (I think there were over 30 wines to taste. I lost count after maybe my 11th sample – Yes, it was a good night). While the event advertised that food truck style eats would be available, I think I saw 4 waiters with platters the entire evening. It was more fun to watch how people would just flock to one area of the venue and you knew it was because they spotted food (although the event did warn you to come nourished, so I kind of expected not to be fed).

Wine Station

Wine Station

When I purchased my ticket to this event, I thought it was going to be more of a wine education (a winducation?) as that is what iYellow Wine Club is known for. Instead, it was more or less a showroom for various California wines and an opportunity to just mingle with friends (or make new ones). I was hoping to learn more about the wines I was drinking, but only received little tid bits of information from each station I visited. The ladies at the Gann Wines table however were fabulous (and they wore fabulous wigs too!). They took the time to walk us through each of the wines at their booth and provided me a fantastic glowing pin (see pic below). I felt like a super hero the rest of the night thanks to those ladies.

With the Gann ladies enjoying my 'buttery' Chardonnay.

With the Gann ladies enjoying my ‘buttery’ Chardonnay.

After about 3 hours of non-stop drinking (ahem, I mean wine sampling), the tables all cleared away and we could either stay and party at the Hoxton or make our way somewhere else. As it was only 10 pm, we decided food was definitely in order and made our way over to the Thompson Diner next door where we ordered the least healthy options we could think of (poutine and mac ‘n cheese).

Mmm....mac 'n cheese. You were definitely needed after all that wine sampling.

Mmm….mac ‘n cheese. You were definitely needed after all that wine sampling.

All-in-all, I had a great night out with friends. The price was right for the event ($50 got us 3 hours worth of unlimited wine sampling) and I am now interested in checking out future events hosted by iYellow Wine Club. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

