ROM PROM

Costumes were fantastic inside the ROM (and so was the unlimited alcohol!)

This past weekend I had the pleasure of attending the Ancient Prom at the ROM fundraising event. When I first heard about the event a couple of months ago, I was super curious to check it out and see how the ROM does PROM. I love attending fundraising events…especially the ones with a theme. I also love to get all doll’d up in a pretty dress as I don’t always have occasions to showcase my more ‘formal’ collection. However, if I had more time to prep, I think I totally would have gone in costume (FYI…I love to wear costumes). I guess I will just have to wait for Halloween to come ’round to bust out my next masterpiece.

Loving all the action at the ROM PROM

For those of you not really sure what this whole ROM PROM madness is all about – it is pretty much a fundraising event hosted by the Young Patrons Circle (YPC) to help support the ROM’s exhibits, galleries and programs. By purchasing a ticket to the event, you help support the ROM and get to party at the same time. It’s a win-win situation! Plus there was entertainment, an open bar, and a food station (to ensure you don’t get completely hammered from the casualties of the open bar).

Getting nails painted and lashes extended at the ROM PROM

So let’s talk about this so-called ‘entertainment’ that I just mentioned above (seriously..I don’t think I need to go into too many details about the booze and food…but I did appreciate there being food stations set up instead of having to always be on the lookout to find those 1 or 2 waiters with the mini grilled cheese. Mmm…I digress). So I am not sure what getting your nails painted or putting on fake eye lashes has to do with the theme of ancient civilizations, but it somehow worked. Lots of girls were eager to get their nails and lashes all fancy and I am sure it definitely helped relieve some of the stress of standing in high heels for 4 hours.

Getting fortunes read and watching the belly dancers perform at the ROM PROM

However, if you weren’t inclined to get your nails and eyelashes all done up (I don’t think I saw any men in line for those free services..but hey, it was open bar…we know where they were at), there was still fun to be had. There was a fortune teller on-site – complete with tarot cards and crystal ball. And randomly in the middle of the evening, a troop of belly dancers appeared to put on a great show and get their dance on with fellow party-goers.

Smiling pretty at the ROM PROM

All-in-all, I think the ROM PROM was a very well run event (look at the smiles on our faces above…or could that just be the alcohol?). Everyone seemed to have a great time (you can’t really have a bad time when you are well fed and liquored up) and stayed until we were kicked out. It will be interesting to see how the AGO’s Massive Party next week will compare to the PROM. More to come on that in a future post!

Leave a Reply

