Gettin’ Artsy

Greetings and Salutations!

Welcome to my first blog post. If you haven’t figured out by my blog title and description – this blog is about..wait for it….finding cool things to do in Toronto. Now I am sure many people would classify that statement as being oxymoronic, but I assure you, there are pretty cool things to do in this city (and I am hoping this blog will prove it!)

When I moved back to Toronto a few years ago, I was clueless where to go on dates in the city, where to eat, where to shop…but after spending some time roaming around, you soon discover that Toronto has lots of great little pockets scattered all about and it really is a giant playground. The city is filled with wonderful places, neighbourhoods, events, gatherings and just random ‘things’ that can make for an interesting adventure (or at least something to talk and laugh about).

Now you may be thinking to yourself, “who is this girl and what makes her an expert on things to do in this city?”. Well I am not claiming to be an expert of any kind (although my mom would vouch for me and tell you that I live a very ‘sex and the city’ lifestyle…whatever that means?).  All I hope to really achieve with this blog is that it will give you some ideas on fun things to do in the city and inspire you to explore. This blog is definitely also going to keep me on my toes trying to find cool happenings and will also force me to get out of the house (which is so difficult to do because it is so cold outside).

So it is currently February, and there is snow on the ground, and many people would think it was terribly hard to find something interesting to do in the city (because no one really wants to go out when it is so cold out, do they?). Well rest assured, I have a suggestion! Now this suggestion is recommended for those that can plan an activity a few weeks in advance as tickets do sell out early!

Feeling cultured at the AGO 1st Thursday event

The AGO and ROM have gotten pretty smart over the last year and now host ‘evening parties’ where you can feel cultured and tipsy at the same time. How awesome is it that you can walk around the galleries with a beer in hand as you listen to great dj’s and see impressive art and artifacts. Now unfortunately the ROM has ended their Friday Night Live parties, but AGO’s 1st Thursdays are still kickin’. Every month the AGO offers party goers a unique experience and theme. I don’t know about you, but I can’t think of a better way to spend a Thursday night than by gluing random bits of newspapers and magazine images to a wall to make art. It’s pretty cool in my books. And if art isn’t quite your thing? Who cares! There is beer, wine, grilled cheese and giant rice crispy squares to keep you entertained (and not to mention the great dj’s).

Getting Artsy at 1st Thursdays at AGO

Getting Artsy at 1st Thursdays at AGO

Unfortunately the March event is completely sold out – but be sure to wait for the April tickets to go on sale as I am sure it will be a great party.

Stay tuned for my next post…SPOILER ALERT…it involves Asian fish waffles (I totally have you intrigued now…)

Happy exploring!

Leave a Reply

