Amateur Game Night

I have a little confession to make…I LOVE games (well board games to be more specific). Ok, that really isn’t my confession. My confession is that I also market board games for a living (and male action figures, too. Cool, I know! Anyway, that is not where this post is going). Ok, I lied again…I have an even bigger confession. I love games, I market games for a living, and it has taken me over two years to finally check out Snakes and Lattes. Gasp!

For those of you that aren’t in the know, Snakes and Lattes is a board game cafe located on the outskirts of the Annex on Bloor Street. The cafe opened back in 2010 (I believe) and has had tremendous success (they just renovated and expanded – enabling more game lovers access to thousands of games titles). The cafe is very popular with Torontonians and it can take hours before a table becomes available for you and your party (tables accommodate up to 6 people).

Thousands of games titles to play at Snakes and Lattes

Thousands of games titles to play at Snakes and Lattes

If planning a night out to Snakes and Lattes, I would highly recommend making other plans in the area as you will most likely end up waiting for a table for an hour or longer. You just need to leave your name with the host and someone will call or text when a table becomes available. There are many restaurants, bars and shops in the area, so there are plenty of things to do while you wait. I actually had some extra time to kill after dinner and managed to find myself wandering the aisles of a Korean supermarket (PAT Central Market) where to my surprise, I noticed a line-up of patrons waiting for some freshly made Fish Waffles (that is not a typo) – or taiyaki. Needless to say, my friend and I were intrigued and had to try one of these interesting looking desserts before we made our way to the cafe.

My friend Serah-Marie super excited to taste her fish waffle

My friend Serah-Marie super excited to taste her fish waffle

Biting the head off the fish waffle was quite strange – but tasty none the less. It gave me the right amount of energy to get my game on that evening. When we actually made it into the cafe, we were seated and greeted by a lovely waitress who quickly took our drink and food orders. After rummaging through the thousand or so game titles, we came across some fun games such as Last Word, Mall Madness, and my ultimate favourite, Flinke Stinker (a fabulous German children’s game).

Smelly skunks as a premise for a children's game? I definitely needed to try out this game!

Smelly skunks as a premise for a children’s game? I definitely needed to try this out!

When we were in doubt how to play a game, or needed a recommendation, we had fabulous “game gurus” that would come over to our table and teach us the rules and even play a round or two (Colin was awesome at teaching us Wollmilchsau – another fun German children’s game).

I totally rocked at playing this game.

I totally rocked at playing this game.

So if you are looking for a great way to spend some time and want to feel like a kid again – I highly recommend visiting Snakes and Lattes. Great environment, great staff, and great games. Check it out! And maybe get some fish waffles on the way.

One thought on “Amateur Game Night

Leave a Reply

