Period Piece

Period Piece Exhibit at OCAD

Period Piece Exhibit at OCAD

To celebrate International Women’s Day, I had the pleasure of attending an art exhibit opening entitled “Period Piece: The Gynolandscape” (have you made the connection yet between the timing and theme? Awesome I know). Now, I am not one to go to a lot of gallery openings (mainly because I never hear about them in time and I’m not really in that scene), but my friend invited me to tag along and I am really glad I did (and who doesn’t love free beer, delicious frosted cookies and a fantastic DJ playing everything from girl groups to Alanis Morissette?).

Now just like I am not a food blogger, I am definitely not an art critic. A lot of the time I just like things because I think they look interesting or pretty (I am sure that is like most of us out there, right?). And I will admit, this exhibit did have a lot of interesting and pretty things (and pretty people inside to boot).

Art-goers inside the exhibit

Art-goers inside the exhibit

What honestly caught my attention inside was the wall of ballet slippers. Now, I never took ballet as a child, but something about baby pink satin shoes just turns me into a little girl again (not sure if that was the point, but I really felt like I was missing my tutu or something).

Ballet slippers line the walls of this exhibit opening

Ballet slippers line the walls of this exhibit opening

Something that I really appreciated at this event was that even the food was art. Standard Peek Frean jelly cookies were decorated with sparkles and pink frosting – YUM! And even the cake was literally a period piece (I think the picture will help explain that one. Sorry men).

Pretty Desserts

Pretty Desserts

All of this dessert was making me hungry, so we headed over to China Town to get some late night eats. The goal was to head over to the Hen House for an All-Female Soul, Disco and R&B Dance Party, but once we got a belly full of bibimbap, it was game over. We barely had enough energy to walk to the streetcar stop – let alone dance.

Awkward pic as mouth is completely full of food

Awkward pic as mouth is completely full of food

If you are interested in checking out the exhibit at OCAD, it is running until April 6th with various special events taking place between March 20th and April 5th. Details can be found here.

Leave a Reply

