Massive Party GOLD

Who knew that Spring smells like fundraising? I guess it kind of makes sense though. It’s a great time to shed those winter layers and celebrate the arrival of warmer weather by getting all dressed up while supporting some great Toronto organizations. Two weeks ago I attended the annual fundraising PROM at the ROM event. This past week I attended the AGO’s Massive Party. After going to the PROM, I wasn’t quite sure how the AGO’s event was going to stack up. I had attended previous fundraising events at the AGO (some better than others), and was a little skeptical how this year’s event was going to play out (SPOILER ALERT: It was pretty awesome).

The theme for this year’s Massive Party was GOLD. The golden theme was infused throughout various installations in the gallery, as well as in people’s attire for the evening (check out the gold beauties in the pic below). Some installations included live performances such as an interpretive dance piece we caught on our way in. I am not really sure how this piece had anything to do with the GOLD theme, but I am sure there was a story somewhere…I just didn’t get it.

Once we made it inside (and got our first round of drinks), we noticed a very colourful photo booth set up and just had to take a picture (really it was just me that wanted to take the picture…I love peer pressure!). While waiting in line for our pic to be taken, we noticed this rather interesting looking fellow (he kind of looked like the Mad Hatter) posing with everyone in their pics. We weren’t exactly sure what was going on – but were intrigued none the less. As we got closer to the booth, we noticed a large table filled with candies and Wonka bars and soon discovered that this was a Willy Wonka inspired photo shoot. It was a pretty cute way to tie in the golden theme by having a golden ticket inspired photo opp.

After wandering around the gallery for a bit to check out some of the installations, we headed upstairs to hear the live band featuring Maylee Todd (and never made it back down until the lights came on at the end of the evening). It would have been interesting to see what was happening on the different levels though (I heard that there were some hurdle races going on with various obstacles as an installation), but we were having too much fun dancing the night away we didn’t want to leave.  Plus we were served some delicious mini-grilled cheese (and who wants to leave a party where they serve mini-grilled cheese? Not me!).

By the end of the evening, I was pretty happy with my decision to give the Massive Party another go-around this year. While I can’t say I feel particularly cultured for attending the event (it was more of a party than an evening of appreciating art), I had a great night hanging with my friends and enjoying the fantastic atmosphere created by the golden theme in such a beautiful building. If there was a battle between the PROM and GOLD – I think GOLD would have taken it.

Leave a Reply

