Toronto Gets Crafty

Welcome to the City of CraftI love how crafty and entrepreneurial people in this city can be. Really. I am always inspired by the level of craftsmanship and art that goes into so many one-of-a-kind pieces produced by local artisans. That’s why I have a soft spot in my heart for the City of Craft fair that takes place twice a year in Toronto. When I moved back home at the end of 2008, I was fortunate enough to stumble upon this fantastic event. You can definitely find those one-of-a-kind gems at the fair which will pique your interest to return year after year.

The Spring edition of City of Craft was held at the Trinity St. Paul’s United Church on Bloor Street at Spadina. It is much smaller than the Fall fair (which now encompasses 3 buildings along Queen West), but was still packed with vendors (and a photo booth thanks to Have & Hold Design!). Inside the actual Church, the event volunteers did a fantastic job decorating the space with lovely pink cut-out flowers taped to twigs that hung overhead. Very crafty indeed! (Although I wouldn’t expect any less).

What I absolutely love about the fair are the actual conversations you have with the people that are selling their crafts. You learn about where they create, what inspires them, how long they have been doing this for. It is just a fantastic setting to get to know local artisans and to give support. And really – look at how adorable some of this stuff is?

So after reading all of this I know you want me to get to the juicy details – what on earth did I end up buying? At previous shows, I have been notorious for lingering around the booths of various screen print artists including Raymond Biesinger and Jacob Rolfe. However, seeing as though my tiny condo walls are already completely filled with art and prints, I did my best to refrain from purchasing any new masterpieces (and believe me, there were definitely some prints I had my eye on). Instead, I purchased the most lovely little card holder from the wonderful ladies at Falconwright. I don’t know how I have functioned this long without having this little beauty hold all my stuff in my clutch. This purchase was WAY overdue (and will probably be the gateway bag into a slew of new purchases from Falconwright).

Don’t fret if you missed your opportunity to check out the fair this Spring. There are plenty of craft fairs and art crawls in the city all year ’round (you just have to be on the lookout for them). And better yet – there is always Kid Icarus to find local, hand-crafted merch. A good handful of the vendors at City of Craft have collections in stock at the Kid Icarus storefront in Kensington. It’s kind of like a mini/permanent City of Craft. If you can’t wait until December to check out the next show, it’s your next best alternative!

Leave a Reply

